I Straighten my Hair!

Hello all! As you may or may not know, I have big chopped my hair a total of 4 times in my lifetime as a natural, 7 years and counting! March of 2013 my hair was SEVERELY damaged due to me putting a “texturizer” in my head in attempts to making my curl looser. Boy oh boy! Silly of me, needless to say it all fell out w/in 3 months.. I BC’ed all but 2 inches of my hair, the least amount needed to grip for braids. The next 10 months I adorned my head with nothing but protective styles from senegalese twist to half wigs. I may have straighten my hair with a blow dryer twice on a low setting HEAVY heat protector, that’s IT for these past 10 months.. This past Saturday I decided to get my hair PROFESSIONALLY straighten, a ceramic flat iron silk (controlled heat) before I went to her I took down my protective style I had in for 2 weeks, I co-washed, detangled, and deep conditioned my hair.. I let it sit over night, slept in a plastic cap, and had my stylist wash it out about 14hrs later in efforts to prevent ANY TYPE OF HEAT DAMAGE! (Lawd I’m TERRIFIED of this) anywho here is the final result… I will also post the products I used..

Image*praying to the natural hair gods, that my hair reverts back completely once I tire of this straight hair.*

ImageThese 2 products helped TREMENDOUSLY in prepping my hair for the heat. The flat iron was only passed through no more than twice! Thank GAWD!! The Mane Choice left my hair extremely soft after being in for 14 hours! LOL! I’m a fan of Carol’s Daughter’s just a bit pricey, but worth it.

Once this straight style has reverted back I will go another 10 months without heat, and only protective styling. I wanted to do a length check. I have retained 8 inches of growth in 10 months of very low manipulating of my hair! Leave it alone, and I promise you it will grow!!!

5 thoughts on “I Straighten my Hair!”

    1. Thank you so much! It didnt seem like it before, due to me having a “scissor happy” beautician, she would trim my ends every 2 months.. Thank God, I rid myself of that relationship, and ventured off to learn about my hair! Thank you so much for reading!

Leave a Reply

